Author Topic: An Unabashed Look at Setting Up One Cannabis Grow in Trinity County  (Read 59 times)

Description: offsite blog

Postmaster

• Administrator
    • View Profile

An Unabashed Look at Setting Up One Cannabis Grow in Trinity County
This article first appeared in a new publication devoted to cannabis, the Emerald Tribune.  (Follow them on Facebook for more cannabis news.) The article is reprinted here with their gracious permission.

FROM A SEED TO A DREAM

DíAndre Johnson

DíAndre Johnson has been growing cannabis for years. He recently purchased and began developing a new farm in Trinity County. We caught up with him to talk about the trials and tribulations of setting up a new homestead. DíAndre hopes that his story will help inspire young kids living in Californiaís major cities.

This is my first time growing in Trinity County. Last year I was in Siskiyou. When I got this property in February, it was just a home surrounded by trees, with a fence on one side, running next to the road. At first, it was just me up here, cutting down trees.

I just bought chainsaws and got started. I had cut down a lot of trees at my previous farm, so I felt pretty confident. But these trees are 120 feet tall, 50-80 year old trees! I realized that had no idea what I was doing.

ďNot everything went smoothly with all of the trees.Ē

A young man walked up the road and saw me cutting trees. He asked if I needed any help, and I ended up hiring him on. He was working for my neighbor at the time. I guess he liked it better over here, because he stayed on, and then he brought his brother over as well. Now they both work for me.

There's still plenty of room for potential growth

THEREíS STILL PLENTY OF ROOM FOR POTENTIAL GROWTH

Things started moving a lot faster once they got here. We logged for something like a month and a half. I donated a lot of the wood to elderly people throughout town to use as firewood.